“In situations that could break the strongest of families, Darcy and her father have set the bar high.”

One of my Great Bend friends understands how cool my adult relationship with my father is. My dad is one great guy, and I’m glad I have him!

lori

I drove my father to my home after my mother passed away in the hospital. He said to me “I can’t wait until I can go to heaven to join them.”

I told him “You can’t do that yet. You’re all I have left.”

You know what he did after that? He moved in, watch my son while my husband and I work, and called my son his “hero.” My dad said Eli saved him. Truthfully, Eli might have saved both of us. That little man gave us a new vision of family, and my daddy embraces that with me everyday.

His room is in the basement now that we moved, but it’s a nice room. šŸ™‚ My dad has lived with me since mom passed away in 2011. I wouldn’t have it any other way (unless he find a good lady to treat him right….).

I love my daddy!

 

Full text of review:

Riveting and, at times, heart-wrenching, From My Mother personalizes a disease few know little about. Ms. Leech candidly shares her story with readers from her earliest memories of her family who, armed with love and determination, push through the cruel realities of myotonic muscular dystrophy. Raised with the understanding that families encourage, support and champion each other through the most difficult of circumstances, Darcy never seems to question her role in caring for her younger brother. Dustin may be restricted in what he can do, but that never seems to be the focus of this family. Instead, they see to it that he has as many “normal” life experiences as possible. As the disease begins to take hold of Darcy’s mother, JoLyn, she shares the difficulties of daily life and the loneliness that often accompanies degenerative diseases such as MMD. In situations that could break the strongest of families, Darcy and her father have set the bar high. Randy, who cares for his grandkids on a daily basis, enjoys a close bond with Darcy and her husband. Quite a refreshing story for one that could have ended in brokenness and hopelessness. This book ignites hope in what can be.

Riveting and, at times, heart-wrenching, From My Mother personalizes a disease few know little about. Ms. Leech candidly shares her story with readers from her earliest memories of her family who, armed with love and determination, push through the cruel realities of myotonic muscular dystrophy. Raised with the understanding that families encourage, support and champion each other through the most difficult of circumstances, Darcy never seems to question her role in caring for her younger brother. Dustin may be restricted in what he can do, but that never seems to be the focus of this family. Instead, they see to it that he has as many “normal” life experiences as possible. As the disease begins to take hold of Darcy’s mother, JoLyn, she shares the difficulties of daily life and the loneliness that often accompanies degenerative diseases such as MMD. In situations that could break the strongest of families, Darcy and her father have set the bar high. Randy, who cares for his grandkids on a daily basis, enjoys a close bond with Darcy and her husband. Quite a refreshing story for one that could have ended in brokenness and hopelessness. This book ignites hope in what can be.

Leave a Reply

