The Faith Story of From My Mother – shared with Heartland Community Church 4/24/2016

For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,” declares the LORD.  “For as the heavens are higher than the earth, So are My ways higher than your ways And My thoughts than your thoughts.…

Today I had the humbling honor of giving a guest sermon in our church, Heartland Community Church in Great Bend. It took a lot of courage and prayer to be able to prepare the sermon, and it took grace to be able to speak the words. But it felt so good to do it!

I told about the evolution of prayer in my life from a child’s “wish” prayers, to the search for meaning prayers I had as a teenager after losing Dustin, to the prayers of “thy will be done” when my mother was in long-term critical care.

“I asked God to let Dustin walk one day, Daddy. It’s what I always wish for.”

The most important thing I told about though was my mother’s faith and strength in her last days – what carried me through to be where I am today. Bless her. The strongest woman I will ever know died with weakening muscles, but steadfast faith. This is her story. God is in it.

We are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed by not driven in despair; persecuted, but not forsaken, struck down, but not destroyed.

 

Here is a full audio recording with the slides presentation as a movie:

If you want to read the full story of From My Mother: Surviving and Thriving in a Family Ravaged by Genetic Disease, you can find it here: http://www.electiopublishing.com/index.php/bookstore#!/From-My-Mother-Surviving-and-Thriving-in-a-Family-Ravaged-by-Genetic-Disease-Paperback/p/63943406

Leave a Reply

