Breaking Up with Perfect: Kiss Perfection Good-Bye and Embrace the Joy God Has in Store for YouBreaking Up with Perfect: Kiss Perfection Good-Bye and Embrace the Joy God Has in Store for You by Amy Carroll
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Having come to realize that from my childhood I tried to escape the stress of what was beyond my control by trying to control my own success through overachieving, this book jumped out at me when I visited a local Christian book store. I needed the read.

My path of burying myself in achievements, tasks and “success” as defined by a resume and society at large has done well for putting me logistically in a good position, but sometimes it makes me hard on myself. More importantly, it makes me hard on others. To try to be a better person, more kind, less judgmental and more merciful, I picked up this book. I’m hoping I can have more realistic standards for my home, my children, my husband and those around me. There is something to being able to achieve, but there is also something to being able to love without conditions, to be gracious instead of measuring and guiding other’s behavior.

Sometimes, prayer is more important than society’s view of progress. Often, enjoying the blessing is more important than trying to make the situation better. And this book will help me capture more of those moments.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

